How To Disable Snapchat Account Temporarily - TechCult

Snapchat is a fun social media app and is actively used by teenagers and young adults. It is built on the concept of ‘lost’ where the pictures and messages that you sent (known as snaps) are only available for a short period. It is an interesting way to engage and communicate with your friends, but too much of anything is an issue, so here we are to discuss how to disable Snapchat account temporarily.

As said above, social media apps like these are very addictive, and people end up spending hours wasting time on these apps. This detrimentally affects their productivity and work or studies. Also, things like sending a snap every day to maintain a streak or making efforts to maintain an aesthetic online presence could become too overwhelming at times. Therefore, from time to time, we consider deleting these apps for good. A mere uninstall is not enough as it is easy to get drawn back into the loop. What you need is a sterner measure like de-activating or disabling your account. This is exactly what we are going to discuss in this article.

How To Disable Snapchat Account Temporarily

Is it Possible to Disable Snapchat?

As mentioned earlier, social media apps like Snapchat becomes a little too overwhelming at times, and we realize that it is doing more harm than good. This is when we decide that we will be getting rid of the app for good. Not just by uninstalling it but by removing our virtual presence from the platform. This is where disabling or deleting an account comes into play.

Snapchat tries to hide this option from plain sight and tries to discourage you by adding some extra steps in the process. However, if you are determined enough, then you can for sure say Goodbye to your Snapchat account.

Unlike other social media platforms, Snapchat does not have separate options to disable the account temporarily or permanently. There is just a single delete option that you can use to disable your account for 30 days. If you do not re-activate your account before the 30-day period expires, then your account will be permanently deleted.

How to Disable your Snapchat Account?

Snapchat does not allow you to disable/delete your account using the app. There is no option to delete your Snapchat account in the app itself. This is just one example of Snapchat trying to stop you from leaving.

The only way to do so is via a web portal. You need to open Snapchat on a browser and then log in to your account to access the delete account option. Follow the steps given below to see how.

1. Firstly, open your web browser (ideally on a computer) and go to Snapchat’s website .

2. Now, “Log in” to your account by entering your credentials.

3. Once you have signed in, you will be taken to the Manage my Account page.

4. Here, select the “Delete my Account” option.

5. Now, you will be taken to the Delete Account page, where you will have to re-enter your username and password to confirm your decision. This is another delaying tactic used by Snapchat.

6. Once you have entered your details again, tap on the Continue button, and your Snapchat account will be disabled temporarily.

Also Read: How To Fix Snapchat Not Loading Snaps?

What are the immediate consequences of Disabling your Account?

When you delete your account from the web portal, Snapchat makes your account invisible to your friends and connections. Your friends will no longer be able to send snaps to you or even view previous conversations. All your stories, memories, chats, snaps, and even your profile will become invisible. No one will be able to find you on Snapchat and add you as their friend.

However, this data does not get permanently deleted before 30 days. It is saved securely on the server and can be restored. It merely hides all your account-related data from other Snapchat users.

How to Reactivate your Account?

If you are halfway into the 30-day temporary deactivation period and feel that you are ready to get back to the platform, you can easily do so. You can get back all the data associated with your account, and you will pick up exactly where you left off. The re-activation process is super simple. All you need to do is install the Snapchat app again and then log in using your username and password. It is that simple. Your login credentials are active for a period of 30 days after deleting your account, so you can still use the same credentials to log in again.

Once you log in, Snapchat will initiate a login process. It might take up to 24 hours before your account is activated again. So, keep checking once in a few hours, and once it is activated, you can get back to using Snapchat as usual.

Is it Possible to Extended the 30-day Period?

If you are not really ready to get back to Snapchat after 30 days but would like to keep that option if you change your mind later, you need an extension to the 30-day grace period. However, there is no official way to ask for an extension. Once you choose to delete your account, it will stay temporarily disabled for 30 days only. After that, your account will get deleted.

There is, however, a clever hack to extend this period almost indefinitely. You will have to log in before the 30 days expire to re-activate your account, and then later, you can delete it again on the same day. This way, the 30-day count will be reset, and you will have more time on your hand to decide what you really want.

Recommended:

  • How to Share Your Location with Friends on Android
  • How to Fake or Change Your Location on Snapchat?
  • How to View Deleted or Old Snaps in Snapchat?

With that, we come to the end of this article. We hope that you find this information useful and you were able to disable your Snapchat account temporarily. Snapchat has recently been getting a lot of heat due to its terrible security and privacy measures. It is a major privacy threat as it collects personal data like location, photos, contact, etc. This is not acceptable. As a result, a lot of people have been deleting their accounts.

In addition to that, social media apps like Snapchat can lead to addiction, and people end up wasting hours on their phones. Therefore, it would be a wise decision to leave the platform at least temporarily and sort out your priorities. You can use the 30 days to ponder upon the question that it is really worth it.